Multan joins Pakistan Super League (PSL) as sixth franchise

PSL 2017

Multan has officially joined the Pakistan Super League (PSL) as a sixth franchise, with the Schön Group — a Dubai-based real estate business enterprise — winning its rights. The PCB confirmed the contract on Thursday (June 1), which will be valid for 8 years.

According to the PCB, it received 12 bids after the board had unveiled its plans to add a new franchise in April this year. Out of them, only Schön made a bid high enough to meet the set price of 5.2 million USD per annum. The highest bidder was given the right to choose the city for the new team out of Faisalabad, Multan, Dera Murad Jamali, FATA and Hyderabad.

Exclusive: Young guns to watch out for at Champions Trophy 2017

The PCB had been mulling over the idea of adding a sixth team to the tournament since 2016, but they couldn’t take the proposal forward due to their contract with other five franchise. The first two seasons of the PSL only featured five teams: Lahore Qalandars, Islamabad United, Karachi Kings, Quetta Gladiators and Peshawar Zalmi.

Pakistan have hosted both the PSL editions in the UAE because of the security concerns, except the second edition’s finale that was played in Lahore amidst tight security. But Najam Sethi, the PSL chairman, while speaking to the media last month, has revealed plans to host at least 8 matches in Pakistan in 2018.

Champions Trophy 2017: Root, Hales power England to emphatic win

Ad: Buy High-Quality Cricket Gear From Cricket Closet