Kohli hits out at Smith’s DRS blunder

Virat Kohli

India skipper Virat Kohli lashed out at Steven Smith’s DRS brain fade in an explosive post-match press conference following India’s remarkable 75-run triumph over the visitors in Bengaluru.

Steven Smith’s dismissal sparked controversy today: he was undone by a delivery that barely bounced, but unerringly hit the pads. Smith and non-striker Handscomb got together to consult the decision of a review but were quickly forbidden as Nigel Llong spotted both batsmen signaling dressing room for advice, which is not permitted according to the rules.

The on-field umpires sent Smith on his way, but Kohli was particularly critical of the batsman’s gesture, as he aggressively followed Smith to voice his displeasure at the actions taken by Smith.

Quick Read: Pakistan to host Word XI in four-match T20 series

According to the International Cricket Council (ICC) standard Test match playing rules for 2016-17, the umpire has a right to decline the call for a review if he/she believes that there may have been an outside signal.

“The captain may consult with the bowler and other fielders or the two batsmen may consult with each other prior to deciding whether to request a PlayerReview,” the Playing Conditions said.

“Under no circumstances is any player permitted to query an umpire about any aspect of a decision before deciding on whether or not to request a Player Review. If the umpires believe that the captain or batsman has received direct or indirect input emanating other than from the players on the field, then they may at their discretion decline the request for a Player Review. In particular, signals from the dressing room must not be given.”

Smith accepted that the whole incident was a ‘brain fade’ on his part.

“I got hit on the pad and looked down to Petey [Handscomb] and he said look up there, so I turned around and it was a bit of a brain fade on my behalf. I shouldn’t have done that.” he said.

“I was looking at our boys, so shouldn’t have done that and it was a bit of a brain fade.”

However, Kohli was clearly not happy at the actions of his counterpart.

“Honestly, if someone makes a mistake while batting, for me personally, that’s a brain fade,” Kohli said. “The way I left the ball in Pune, you know, getting hit on the off-stump. That was a brain fade. But if something is going on for three days, then that’s not a brain fade, as simple as that. I don’t want to say more on that, videos are out there for everyone to see.

It was getting repetitive, that’s why the umpires also knew that it might happen again. I saw it two times when I was batting, I can vouch for that.”

He also added that he can recall at least two other instances in this Test match when Aussies sought help from the dressing room.

“I saw that two times happening when I was batting out there. I pointed it out to the umpire as well, that it has happened twice, that I’ve seen their players looking upstairs for confirmation, and that’s why the umpire was at him. When he turned back, the umpire knew exactly what was going on, because we observed that, we told match referee also, and the umpires, that they’ve been doing that for the last three days and this has to stop, because there’s a line that you don’t cross on the cricket field.

Sledging and playing against the opponents is different, but… I don’t want to mention the word, but it falls in that bracket. I would never do something like that on the cricket field.” he said

India star VVS Laxman also took twitter to voice his opinion regarding the matter.

Read: Ashwin skittles Australia as India level series


Featured PC: James Cullen/Flickr

You Might Also Like:

Share